About the Region

DepEd-Region X-Northern Mindanao covers a total land area of 17,885 square kilometers. The total number of municipalities and barangays are 84 and 2,022 respectively. It is bounded by the Mindanao Sea on the north, Western Mindanao on the west Caraga Region on the east, and Regions 11 and 12 on the south.

It is composed of five(5) Provincial Schools Division namely Bukidnon, Camiguin, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Misamis Oriental. It has nine (9) City Schools Divisions, namely: Malaybalay City, Valencia City, Cagayan de Oro City, Gingoog City, El Salvador City, Iligan City, Ozamis City, Oroquieta City and Tangub City.

Aside from being the entry point of Mindanao, the region is blessed with amazing beaches and natural resources. It boasts of numerous tourist attraction the most famous being the white water rafting in the rivers of Cagayan de Oro City; the white beaches of Iligan City and Camiguin and the Dahilayan Adventure Park of Bukidnon, to mention a few.

Northern Mindanao’s topography is varied. There are plains, forest, mountains, hills and coastal areas. The area supports agricultural and aquaculture. The soil is rich in minerals. There are hydro-electric plants to provide steady supply of electricity.

Northern Mindanao has a wealth of natural resources. Northern Mindanao is the country’s top-producer of pineapple, banana, corn production and chicken production.