deped website




DepEd NorMin and stakeholders extended financial assistance to identified DepEd Region X teaching and nonteaching personnel that incurred damage brought about by Typhoon Odette.

Through the Regional Office’s (RO) partnership efforts, the 193 affected teachers and nonteaching personnel in Region X (Cagayan de Oro City (81), Camiguin (81), El Salvador City (1), Gingoog City (6), Misamis Oriental (12), and Oroquieta City (12)), received equal shares of P5,276.00 each from the total generated funds of P1,018,403,00 to support their full recovery and/or repairs of property damage.

Conducted at the Division of Camiguin, Mambajao Camiguin, on September 8, the initiative on the distribution of financial assistance was anchored on and facilitated through the DepEd Twinning System as per OUA Memorandum No. 00-0222-0102 or the “Implementation of the Twinning System for the Regions and Divisions affected by Typhoon Odette.”

Through the leadership of Regional Director Dr. Arturo B. Bayocot, CESO III, the RO wishes to convey the Region's assistance and gathered humanitarian support from partners for the affected personnel to education delivery despite the setback and disaster through a cluster distribution (Second Cluster: Division of Camiguin and Division of Gingoog City – September 8-9).

The financial assistance was also made possible through DepEd NorMin’s collaboration with DepEd Region IX, Division of Zamboanga del Norte, Philippine Association of Schools Division Superintendents (PASS), Association of DepEd Directors (ADD), and the National Printing Office (NPO).

Coordinating this event was the RO’s Education Support Services Division (ESSD) under Chief Myron Gil D. Talosig, CESE, with Regional Partnership Focal Person Dr. Ricardo G. Dragon, and Regional DRRM Coordinator Mr. Mell Heiston R. Genson.

Also supporting the event was the Division of Camiguin headed by Schools Division Superintendent Edgardo V. Abanil and Assistant Schools Division Superintendent Sunny Ray F. Amit, together with Schools Governance and Operations Division (SGOD) Chief Lailane E. Lopeña and Division Disaster Risk and Reduction Management (DRRM) Coordinator Ms. Analine B. Banaag.  │ ESSD Ricardo G. Dragon